January 8, 2012: Low FODMAP Recipes!!!

9 Jan

Last night, I didn’t go out.

It was a Saturday… and I didn’t go out.

Just a year or so ago, that would have been a rarity. Now? It’s rather commonplace. I spent the evening at a friend’s house. I cooked us a fabulous low FODMAP dinner:

ENTREE & Side Dishes:

-Breaded Chicken (Chicken cut like cube steak, Recipe for the breading can be found here- http://www.celiac.com/gluten-free/topic/38565-nearly-kfc-chicken-gluten-free-coating-mix/ )
-Half a Baked Potato with low fat whipped vegetable spread and lactose free cheese
-Half a cup of whole kernel corn

Granted, I will admit, I tried to eat some of my Rice Cream chocolate ice cream substitute, but it’s just not my thing. So… instead a snuck a few white chocolate covered pretzels. They made my tummy a little gurgly, but nothing much worse than that!

As for today, I loved my little lunch!

Mini-Pizza’s… Bruschetta Style!

-2 slides Udi’s Whole Grain Gluten-Free Bread
-2 Tbsp Prego Veggie Smart sauce
-1/4 cup Kraft Natural Non-Fat Mozzarella Shredded Cheese (Lactose free!)
-Hormel Turkey Pepperoni

Granted, I didn’t ACTUALLY make them full-on bruschetta (with the rubbed garlic & olive oil), just toasting the bread a little is fine. But, top each slice with the sauce, a couple pepperoni’s and a Tbsp of cheese under and a Tbsp above the toppings. Heat it up, and voila! Absolutely delicious AND low-fat, low calorie! (Under 300 calories, <12 g fat [depends on how many pepperoni's you use], 54 g carbs, 27 g protein)

Dinner was also quite the success…

Chicken Taco’s

-Member’s Mark Shredded Chicken Breast in Water (from Sam’s club) (70 cal for 1/3 cup, 140 for 2 tacos)
–Heated this in skillet w/ seasonings AND Julio’s mild salsa (sort of like a last-minute marinade?)
-Mission Artisan Tortillas- Blue corn and flaxseed (2 tortillas- 200 cal)

[EDIT: Apparently I cannot read & noticed the next day after eating these tortillas that I was having digestive problems again... apparently despite the fact they are billed as corn tortillas, they are in fact WHEAT. Apparently, my body could tolerate it for one meal, but not for 2 days in a row. So, If trying taco's, my advice? ALWAYS read the ingredients before buying. I have now learned my lesson. Ugh!]

-Weight Watchers Double Cheddar Cheese (1/6 cup each taco- 80 cal for 1/3 cup)
-Fresh sliced tomato
-More Julio’s Mild Salsa!

[EDIT: Be cautious of certain salsas! Many include garlic, onion, etc. I am not super sensitive to those things and can have salsa/hot sauce in moderation. However, if you are strict about this, you may want to make your own hot sauce out of tomato sauce, jalapenos, etc.]

Absolutely delicious, extremely filling, AND totaled out at about 440 calories for two VERY full tacos! (37 g carbs, 14 g fat, 35 g protein)

Trying to eat healthy AND low FODMAP was definitely tough at first. I had been eating very specific low calorie things for my workout/diet plan for a little over a month when I decided to take the plunge into a (mostly) elimination FODMAP diet. Slowly, but surely, I am starting to find new recipes and ideas for making meals just as delicious and low calorie/healthy like before!

Really, the easiest thing I’ve found to do is look at what my favorites meals are, identify what is NOT low FODMAP approved and find a way to make it where it is. Most of the time, it’s a simple switch (gluten-free bread instead of whole wheat, spelt pasta instead of regular spaghetti, finding something natural instead of something filled with high fructose corn syrup…). The biggest problem I’ve found is the gluten issue and after looking through recipes on celiac disease sites, it’s SOOO easy to find substitutes! A little research goes a long way!

Anyway, I’m hoping to expand into the world of baking very soon (*crosses fingers*), so hopefully I’ll have some fun recipes and adventures to share soon! :)

PS- I’m running in a race this weekend and can’t wait to publish results! I’ve been working very hard to prepare and I’m hoping it pays off… It’s just a 2 mile race, so I’m shooting for a 17:30-18:00 time. It’s a little hill-y, but we’ll see how it goes!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

